Chapter 44-Oranges and Lemons

Right from my first falter on the number line, grasping at mathematics has been the mental equivalent of apple bobbing. And more years later than I care to remember, at times it still is.

Desperate to pass my maths GCSE, I asked my teacher if a tutor would help. “No, I’m afraid there wouldn’t really be any point,” he replied, turning on his heel. He thereby saved us some money but very little face.

So, while we’ve tackled letters with gusto, our first foray into arithmetic with Raffie was something I approached with apprehension.

Raffie not taking his first maths lesson entirely seriously.

Raffie not taking his first maths lesson entirely seriously.

“Are you going to eat all those oranges Mummy?” “No, we’re going to do some numbers Raffie.” “Can we make a cake with them?” “Not at the same time poppet.” “Can I get some flour?” he asked, heading towards the cupboard. “Not yet.”

And so, flour retrieved and cleaned off the carpet, we made our first meal of mathmatics. Staring out of the window during maths lessons, I wondered if this sort of thing was useful in real life. To my surprise, it was. And so I am keen for Raffie to embrace, rather than avoid, numbers.

Starting with oranges. Having to catch them first is all part of the fun. With a bit of adding and even stepping out with some subtraction we dipped our toes in the pool of numbers and liked what we found.

Counting tiny balls at the Science Museum.

Counting tiny balls at the Science Museum.

Despite passing my GCSE, I will probably always be bobbing for apples when it comes to maths, Raffie is loving number oranges in small doses.

And I’m hoping if he starts off by learning just to have fun with numbers, then our efforts might start to bear fruit, be they apples or oranges. And who knows, I might just learn a thing or two along the way as well.

12 thoughts on “Chapter 44-Oranges and Lemons

  1. Ah good for you tackling something that you find difficult! Never mention the number word to him but just do ‘fun things with numbers’…that way he won’t even know he is learning about numbers and you won’t get so nervous! Looking for numbers where ever you go is always a good one when they are little “who can spot a number”…and when they are a bit older, getting them to guess the house numbers as they identify a pattern. Anyway, enough from me but well done for teaching something you don’t enjoy!

  2. I think it’s great you are wanting to tackle maths and in a fun way. I somehow got a B in maths, no idea how, but I’m terrible at basic maths. I’m hoping I will learn some new skills when my little ones start school.

    Thanks for linking up with Small Steps Amazing Achievements :0)
    x

  3. Fantastic idea and I couldn’t agree with you more. It’s so great to take the time and effort to teach our children and make it fun for them! Thank you so much for linking up to Share With Me I hope to see you again tomorrow for another great round #sharewithme

Leave a Reply

