Chapter 15-Bouncing off Satellites

For some, they are the building blocks of life. But physics has yet to build a home in my heart.

My performance in the subject was found wanting by a world weary teacher who had been doing the job so long he also taught my mother. She went on to work as a radiographer, which by comparison must have made seeing my baffled expression in the front row even more of a disappointment.

I remember only too well the arrogance of my youth when exploring the subject of why balls bounce. I thought this was because they were made of rubber. What with all that rubber tapping homework in geography this seemed far more logical than a formula, graph and a big wavy line. And that was the beginning and end of my brief and woeful romance with something I still fail to grasp.

So taking Raffie to the Science Museum was a new experience for both of us. And what an experience it was. Huge cavernous spaces filled with amazing feats of experimentation and endeavour, topped off with a water table in the basement, thoughtfully accompanied by waterproof bibs. Projections, interactive demonstrations and even a wall filled with springy doorstoppers, one of Raffie’s favourite household items, made it a memorable afternoon.

The boy in a bib.

The boy in a bib.

The museum was heaving with visitors, but despite being confined to either a pushchair or reins for much of the time Raffie seemed impressed with what lay inside, particularly when it came to space.

“I like the satellite Mummy.” This took me by surprise though as to my shame I had completely failed to notice the Sputnik over our heads, staring instead at a model of a soldier with a rocket and a very big ladder. “O well done, that’s a great word to learn,” I replied enthusiastically. Followed also rather sympathetically by “And I like rockets too Mummy.”

Enjoying fish pond projections.

Enjoying fish pond projections.

As we arrived home to Grandma’s this new found passion for the final frontier had moved to the next level. We talked about how much we liked planets, and whether it would be fun to be a spaceman. And how we liked Mr Tumble as a spaceman. I always thought it would be until I caught sight of the teeny tiny Apollo 10. I couldn’t imagine popping to the shops in it let alone being blasted into space.

Climbing the stairs to bed, Raffie was filling Grandma in with the important details of the day. “I like satellites Grandma.” “Do you Raffie? What about being an astronaut then?” This met with a pause. “No. I want to be a satellite Grandma. Or a planet.” Proof, if any were needed, that when it comes to the ambitions of toddler space cadets, the sky really is the limit.

Blogorama

Raffie has a yearning for brioche and guava juice. Two foodstuffs which may have well have come from outer space when I was a toddler. Actually Mummy’s lovely blog has lots of down to earth recipes and much more. You can read about them here http://www.actuallymummy.co.uk/

3 thoughts on “Chapter 15-Bouncing off Satellites

  1. We love the science museum! It’s great for inquisitive minds! We have a five year old boy who constantly fires physics related questions at me! I feel I’m learning along with him sometimes! Lovely blog – I’ve just followed it so look forward to reading more x chiswick mum

    • Hello there, thank you so much that’s really kind! I am learning all the time, at the moment we’re having a lot of ‘where does it come from’ questions to keep us busy! I haven’t been to the science museum but what a brilliant place-we’ll definitely be back the next time we’re in London! x

Leave a Reply

